The Student Room Group

Will my GCSE's affect my chances of getting into uni?

Hey I was just wondering how much bearing GCSE's have on getting into uni? I am currently in my last year of my BTECH in IT Practioners and expected to get either DDM or DMM.

But my GCSE's are mostly D's and two C'S in english will this affect my chances? I also did a level two diploma in business administration will this help with my ucas points?

Sorry for the rant im just sooo worried! I have already applied for unis and waiting for replies, im 20 and will be 21 in august if this helps as i'll be a mature student?

I have no idea really and hoping for some advice!! thanks for taking the time to read this! xxxxxxx
Reply 1
Depends what/where you're applying to. Many uni's require at least a C grade in maths and english - presumably you checked before applying?
it really depends what sort of uni you are applying to/what subject you want to do.

i think that it would be worth resitting english though, to try and get a C- even though this might not be essential for university, it will be really useful in later life...
It depends on the uni. Some higher brow unis will check back, e.g. some colleges at Ox-bridge wont accept anyone with less than 5A*s at GCSE.
Most uni's overlook this in favour of points from A levels.
Reply 4
Applied for manchester, cardiff, brighton, sussex and kent, how hard are these to get in?
Reply 5
it sort of depends what course you've applied for at uni. Different courses will have different requirements including gcse grades. They take everything into consideration. What do you want to study?
Reply 6
AnniexXx
Applied for manchester, cardiff, brighton, sussex and kent, how hard are these to get in?

depends what course you have applied for and how competitive it is
Reply 7