Turn on thread page Beta

Rippetoe / Starting Strength queries - look here watch

ReputationRep:
    Well I've decided that I'm gonna follow most people's advice and just go with Starting Strength. Heard a lot of good things about it and it does seem like the best thing to choose. I just had a couple of questions about it though; as a novice I'm trying to understand exactly how you do the exercises online and through videos but obviously you can't learn properly unless you do it yourself. I was just wondering about the risk of injury for a first-timer and everything.

I mean I've bench-pressed a bit before but at 5'9" and 145lbs I'm pretty skinny and could do only about 65lbs which from what I've heard is really crap for a beginner. Also did some squats and could only manage about 90lbs or so (and that was really pushing it). This was when I was going a bit with my friend and the programme is meant to be so you add a bit of weight each time you do the exercise (like the next time) but I sort of followed a *******ised version and my BP wasn't going up at all and neither were my squats. Just worried I'll begin with something light and it'll take ages to move on from it.

ReputationRep:
    Just make sure you're having enough calories and sleep and the weights will build up ( with good form of course ).

GOMAD

ReputationRep:
    This is what starting strength is for. Everyone has to start somewhere

ReputationRep:
    Why don't you just get the book? It gives very detailed instructions on the lifts and how to start everything off. There's a damn chapter for every single lift, plus assistance lifts.

If not that, just read the hell out of the wiki, all your questions have been answered there.

http://startingstrength.wikia.com/wi..._Strength_Wiki

ReputationRep:
    SS recommends that you hit your 3x5 PRs in your 4-6th week. I'd thus recommend for you starting with the bar for squats/bench/press/powercleans and a bit more for deadlifts.

ReputationRep:
    Hi,