Turn on thread page Beta

Which charity shall I give to? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Basically, I've realised it's pretty ridiculous I'm not giving anything at all to charity. I'm a student but I'm not poor to the extent that I can't afford a minor monthly donation (spending £4.50 on not very much at Sainsburys local just now brought this into perspective)

I imagine I'd look at something like 5-10 pounds a month which I know isn't great but it's a start and at least better than what I'm donating at the moment (zilch)

My one condition is no animal charities, for reasons not relevant to this thread. I'd appreciate it if this didn't spark some random debate and it's just accepted as my own personal condition.

Similarly, this is in no way a debate about whether to give to charity, and I'm not expressing any view on whether or not I think anyone else should give to charity. It's just for those who know of a good charity they think I should donate to, that's it. So please no tangents. Thanks

I think that's it, I'll be grateful for any suggestions.

ReputationRep:
    Are there any causes close to you or your family? What interests you in life, could your passions relate to charitble causes at all?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Double Agent)
    Are there any causes close to you or your family? What interests you in life, could your passions relate to charitble causes at all?
    I can't really think of anything specific, hence I'm uncertain which charity to go for. I've only ever lost one person close to me, and that was my grandmother who died of old age more than anything. I guess I started the thread to see if there was anything that sparked some sort of deep approval of what a charity is doing.

I was thinking of something that would perhaps do the most good for my money (maybe something related to children in the third world?) but not sure if that's a bit simplistic.

ReputationRep:
    What about a smaller charity?