Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I finished my degree in Biomedical Science last year at uni but the course I did was not accredited by the IBMS. I didn't think I wanted to become a BMS until the 2nd year so was too late to change.

What I want to know is how is the best way of going about doing the top-up course? I'm trying to get some sort of trainee position but with no luck at all. Should I just email course directors at uni's to ask if they allow top-up students instead?

P.S. I've already recieved a letter from the IBMS telling me what units I have to take.

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

It might be a good idea to start by contacting universities to ask them what their policy is?

What modules did the IBMS say that you need to top up? If it is 6 or less then (in theory) you should be able to take these in 1 year, but I'm not really sure how it works.

Best to go onto each univeristy's departmental website and see if they list the modules taken in their biomed course.

Sorry I can't be more helpful - I've never heard of a case like yours!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by chrislee88)
    Hi, I finished my degree in Biomedical Science last year at uni but the course I did was not accredited by the IBMS. I didn't think I wanted to become a BMS until the 2nd year so was too late to change.

What I want to know is how is the best way of going about doing the top-up course? I'm trying to get some sort of trainee position but with no luck at all. Should I just email course directors at uni's to ask if they allow top-up students instead?

P.S. I've already recieved a letter from the IBMS telling me what units I have to take.