Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

How long until you're longer considered a "graduate"? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    The reason I ask is that I'm planning on taking a year out and going on a working holiday abroad after I graduate, and when I come back I'd like to apply for "graduate" opportunities. At that point it will have been a year since I graduated, so I don't want to fail their requirements because of that. Does it depend on the company, or is there a standard?

Also, when are you considered to have graduated - when you've finished your course, or when you've gotten your diploma at your graduation ceremony?

ReputationRep:
    I'm sure you'd still be considered for graduate positions. After all, you presumably won't have had relevant work experience to qualify you for anything higher. I doubt many companies have a hard limit on when they no longer consider someone a graduate. But I guess if you graduated 10 years ago and haven't had a graduate level job since then they'd probably wonder why.

Officially, it's probably not until you receive your graduation certificate (normally done at the ceremony). But I wouldn't have thought many companies would care about that formality. They'd probably want to know your results before commiting to hiring you though. I don't think I was ever asked for proof that I'd graduated. Although my university tutor was one of my references, so he probably confirmed it. And the fact I had a vague idea of what I was talking about in the interview might have counted as evidence that I did a degree.

ReputationRep:
    Your a graduate when you get the certificate.

All companies will accept people for at least two years after graduating onto 'grad' schemes. Then it varies. However, if you're trying to get in first time round then its a bit risky but upto you.

ReputationRep: