Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

just wanted to know if anyone doing ACA failed the first exam they did? I am an independent student. And if anyone passing the knowledge modules could please give me some advise on how they studied for them? I failed my first paper B&F, so if anyone could give me some advise it would be appreciated. Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Don't be worried - even some students on training contracts fail the first exam

However later exams will get harder so you need to really pass these well

How are you studying? distance? did you get some tuition? are you from an accounting background?

ReputationRep:
    I haven't taken the business finance exam, as I am on an audit training contract and so began with Audit and Accounting knowledge papers.

To pass them the key thing is to practise. You can even begin by simply practising through the questions (after a scan read of the chapters from your study text). The ones you get wrong, go back and learn properly (more lengthy read, make some notes).

Make sure you keep all the notes for review, and then next time re-read your notes (should be easier than study manual texts) and re-attempt an entire chapter of questions about a week later.

This is based on you attempting a chapter every ~1-2 days (depending on size of chapter) and rotating them over a week-fortnight cycle.

At the end of the day you have to do it basically every day, and you have to memorise a lot of information - this being a knowledge paper - after all.

Good luck!

PS - I would recommend seeking a training contract if you can.

PM me if you've any specific follow up questions.

R

ReputationRep:
    These ones are straight forward.

Just do every question in the question bank three times.

ReputationRep:
    BPP also do study passcards if you think that might help learn the info rather than using the book

ReputationRep: