Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    When talking about top continental universities, usually people consider Bocconi one of these.

I studied there three years and I'm currently enrolled in their MSc Finance. So I would like to shed some light on this program, particularly because there've been some recent changes.
    I hope this will be useful for potential applicants

WHY GO?

- You want to work in IBD: This is the strongest field and the alumni network is impressive. If you are a good candidate and prepare accurately your apps, you'll have an interview with practically every BB. There are people who prepared 3-4 messy apps or people with nothing more than good grades that now have offers or had some interviews.

- You want to work in Italy or Ticino: Many BBs recruit only from Bocconi for their Italian offices and even at 2nd-tier banks' final rounds 80% of candidates is from Bocconi. Only Milan Polytechnic is somewhat comparable, but obviously for quant/tech roles

- You want to live in Milan: St Gallen is a nice town and Stockholm is a beautiful city, but Milan (and generally Italy) is for many people way more interesting.

- You want to learn Italian: Obvious reason

WHY NOT GO?

- You want to be a trader: Unless you fancy being a trader in Italy, it is extremely difficult to land a trading job in London. You should be an excellent candidate with sky-high grades (equivalent of a first) and some previous finance internship, actually only DB seems to like Bocconi students as traders. Except DB (that it's interviewing now), I know very few people with S&T offers (exactly two, and they meet the aforementioned requirements) and only a very small number who had at least an interview (I think not more than 4-5 including also research). Many people apply for S&T summer internships in their final year, apply to FT roles after an IBD internship or long-term internships in Italian offices.

Edit (to be more specific):