Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

How can I improve my credit rating? It seems like an impossible viscious circle... watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I desperately wanted a nation wide credit card for the cheap (0.8%) charge on foreign withdrawals outside of Europe, and free within Europe, and the 6 months interest free. However, they did a credit check on me and said because I have no history with them I cannot get an account with them.

So, reluctantly, I went to loyds TSB, my current prime bank account provider, to request their credit card, as I think it would be safer to not use my debit card in Brazil/Argentina. They rejected me to...

I do have money, I don't have a high salary or anything as I'm a student, but I've never been in debt, and only require a credit card for that bit of extra security.

How can I compromise on this? Or how can I escape this cycle of 'not having any history' when it seems the only way to get one is to have had and used credit cards before? Anyway, how (if I can't get a credit card) do you suggest I stay as safe as possible in South America regarding my money?

Thanks for reading...

within a week you will have 100 offers.

ReputationRep:
    I'm also a student and i was refused a credit card at

llyods tsb
    barclaycard
    virgin

but strangely applied and received the Capital one credit card

the only problem is that their APR is among the highest 34.9 %

ReputationRep:
    That's funny. HBOS gave me a credit card with a £500 limit no problem and then upped the limit to £1000 without even asking me. Have you got a contract phone? That builds credit, providing you pay on time. I don't know if you'd have enough time to do this before you actually need a credit card though.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jbanjeet)
    I'm also a student and i was refused a credit card at

llyods tsb
    barclaycard
    virgin