How useful is Italian? Watch

Xenia.
Badges: 1
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
Hi

I was wondering about studying Italian (and Russian possibly) at university. At the moment, I'd quite like to do something in translating or perhaps diplomacy. However, I know Italian isn't very widely spoken - especially in relation to the other romance languages - would this be a big problem when trying to get a job after my degree?

Thank you!
Girl♥RadioHeart
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by Xenia.)
Hi

I was wondering about studying Italian (and Russian possibly) at university. At the moment, I'd quite like to do something in translating or perhaps diplomacy. However, I know Italian isn't very widely spoken - especially in relation to the other romance languages - would this be a big problem when trying to get a job after my degree?

Thank you!
I learnt Italian as a subsiduary module in my first year of Uni. I studied French as my main language.

I found it a lovely language to learn, it isn't difficult compared to German/Russian but perhaps not as useful. In terms of business and future career, I'd suggest learning an up-and-coming language like Mandarin or Urdu but I understand these are difficult to come by in Uni's. If you want to learn a romance language, learn French/Spanish as they are far more widely spoken around the world and would be more useful in business and if you want to travel.

If you need anymore advice, I'll try and help :yep:
gilbo
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Italian is pretty handy and catching on in Italy.
not-another-number
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
It's a lovely language. I picked it up at ab initio level this year and I love it so much I'm going to keep it next year.
It's not very widely spoken though so I'd recommend having at least one of your languages as a widely spoken one.
CatatonicStupor
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago