Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    ok i go to the gym about twice/three times a week for about 45 mins sessions.

i do about 20 mins runnings/cardio. and the rest on the weight machines.

most people are on the machines for like 5 min blocks but i spend like 30 secs to a min on each. i feel kinda weird about it cos im moving from machine to machine quickly and was just wondering if it was normal to spend really short times on machines

ReputationRep:
    I think that your relationship with these machines is obsessive. Maybe you should stop texting them so much...

ReputationRep:
    My guess is that you should spend a bit more time on the machines. I'm no gym expert, and I don't pretend to be, but my trainer told me to do 3 X 12 to start with. Might be different since I'm a girl though.. Also, maybe you're doing the exercises to quickly? Try to slow down and do them in a more controlled manner - this makes you feel it more too.. (Or at least me!)
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    Study Helper
    that's a pretty small time, I mean I've seen people spend ages on on 1 machine. It all depends on what you need. Normally if you spend long on something, you are trying to improve endurance based fitness, such as Stamina(CV fitness) or muscular endurance.

ReputationRep:
    You need to spend longer on each machine... then your body will build up better stamina =)

ReputationRep:
    You should post this in the fitness section.

What machines do you use?

What are your aims?

ReputationRep:
    why dont you try using free weights instead?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Devp93)
    ok i go to the gym about twice/three times a week for about 45 mins sessions.

i do about 20 mins runnings/cardio. and the rest on the weight machines.