Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I want to study biochemistry possibly at oxford, they state requirements at 39 points and 7,6,6 at higher (7 in chem) and recommend math SL

In my latest report I had all 6's (i am only in 2nd term of IB). Assuming I will be able to get a 7 in chem 6 in bio and 6 in english (my highers) BUT get a 7 in maths studies what do you think my chances are?
    I predict my final grade as 40 points & I got 6A* (3 A* in seperate scienes and 4A (one A math) and one B (french) in GCSE

should I bother applying and sending all my applications earlier?
    i am also an international student

ReputationRep:
    It's not all about grades, sometimes you can just be unlucky. But I think you've got a chance.

ReputationRep:
    If*you*have*a*strong*person al*statement*you*should*have *a*chance...

ReputationRep:
    thank you ^^ anyone else in similar position get in??

ReputationRep:
    I don't think it would stop you getting in, but I would seriously consider whether you actually want to do biochemistry if you don't like/aren't very good at Maths. The Oxford Biochemistry course seems to have a lot of tough maths in

(Original post by jay8)
    I don't think it would stop you getting in, but I would seriously consider whether you actually want to do biochemistry if you don't like/aren't very good at Maths. The Oxford Biochemistry course seems to have a lot of tough maths in
    :ditto: this. One thing which many people have mentioned since coming here is their surprise at the heavy emphasis placed on Maths in subjects such as PPE, Philosophy and so on. It appears to be even more true in the case of sciences, i.e. Chemistry, Human Sciences, so I'd expect it to be the same for Biochem. I do French and Linguistics, and even we are expected, for the latter, to be comfortable with aspects of Maths/Physics.

ReputationRep:
    Maths studies would be a serious handicap. You should have at least standard maths.

ReputationRep: