Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys
    I was wondering if anyone could help answer my questions

I am a gap year resit student. Got an Alevel in Maths (Edexcel) with the modules c1,c2,c3,c4 and s1,s2. Got a B overall. I am resitting S2 and C3 to get an A this year.

However I want to pick up AS maths in my gap year too. However I do NOT want to do mechanics (I tried it for a while and hated it). I am aiming for an A in this too.

My questions are:
    What modules can i take to get an AS in further maths? - I know I can do D1,FP1, but what else? (apart from mechanics)

Which exam board should I go with? Are AQA better than Edexcel?

Thanks guys, any help would be appreciated!

ps. probably important to know that I have to self teach!

ReputationRep:
    D2 is just as easy as D1.
    If you do D1, D2 and FP1 I think you'll find it even easier than normal A Level Maths
    Edit: I do OCR all those modules are fairly easy with them. Not sure about other exam boards though.

ReputationRep:
    Were you okay with C4? If so, try FP2 or FP3.
    Otherwise, S3 is quite nice, especially if you enjoyed S1 and S2.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Becky21)
    D2 is just as easy as D1.
    If you do D1, D2 and FP1 I think you'll find it even easier than normal A Level Maths
    Edit: I do OCR all those modules are fairly easy with them. Not sure about other exam boards though.
    Hi thanks for your reply.
    I had heard D1 was quite easy, I personally havent looked at it myself so I dont know if I will. I hadnt thought about doing D2, thanks for the suggestion I'll look into it!

Really not sure which exam board to go with though

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AnonyMatt)
    Were you okay with C4? If so, try FP2 or FP3.
    Otherwise, S3 is quite nice, especially if you enjoyed S1 and S2.
    I doubt I would enjoy FP3 and FP2, i didnt realyl like c4! Was my weakest module.