Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Does anyone who took a gap year feel like they can't identify with people at uni? watch

ReputationRep:
    This might be just Cambridge- basically I'm in my first year uni and I haven't really made any good friends here and the social life is rubbish (probably mainly the lack of friends). I've tried hard to make friends and do have people to hang out with/ go out with- but there just isn't anyone I really 'click' with- they all just feel totally different to me.

I've been wondering if maybe one problem is that the majority of people here didn't take gap years- and I spent all my gap year hanging out with 21-23year olds so the people in my college feel waay younger than me- they seem like lovely people on the whole- but they just seem so inexperienced and have no idea what they want in life and are sort of tame and easily impressed. The environment feels really school-like- people tend to hang out in cliques and there is a sort of 'cool kids' crowd who don't talk to other people. The only people I really like are the third years and a few second years- but it doesn't seem possible to become good friends with them.

It might also be that the general crowd at Cambridge has got more than its fair share of introverted/quiet/ well behaved students- people do work extremely hard in general, and there isn't much to do in the way of night life that appeals to me, and no-one seems to want to have room parties/drinking games. People here generally seem to be beginning to have the experiences I had at 16. I really don't hold it against the people in my year- if they want to live a quieter existence and work hard then good for them- but I can't help feeling frustrated that there isn't anyone like the amazing friends I made on my gap year.

I'm just wondering what other people's experience is in other unis- it might just be the particular people I've been thrown together with..