Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my second year at LCC doing journalism. I know this isn't 'relevant' but I'm working as the Politics and Current Affairs editor for a high profile online magazine, and have written as much about politics as possible, as before wanting to do the IR degree it was my primary ambition.

I've been pretty pro-active since college, I was my NUS president of City of Bristol College (in the top five for size, students, premises, revenue, etc.), I then did an internship with their marketing dept. which turned into a paid temp job, then I moved to London and did a few PR/writing internships, then started uni, curated an event for the London Literature Festival, interviewed people like Benjamin Zephaniah and Shami Chakrabarti, did a course in radio broadcasting and about 7 months ago started working in the Better Regulation Exec (cross governmental regulation reform body in Whitehall)

That's all done, but I really need advice on what to do from here.

I'm volunteering for a month in Thailand from March to April, and then in summer I was going to do (www.myplatform2.co.uk) and volunteer for two and a half months, or work for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and do LSE summer schools in Development Economics and one of the International Relations subjects.

Then I'd probably do more work in the FCO next easter holidays, and Summer would be decided later.

Once my degree's done should I apply if I have a first? Should I intern at an NGO? Or look for a job at the FCO/Whitehall in general?

Also would there be any international alternatives I should look at? I know King's in LDN, but I kind of want LSE or nothing! (greedy I know)

I'd just like some informed opinions about my chances, I presume I'm in a relatively favourable position, but I know it's one of the toughest degree programs in the world, so I'm going against the best of the best.

Thanks for your help in advance