Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    hey, first post here

I am looking for advice on whether to take GCSE resits. In 2009 I got 2 A's, 8 B's and 4 C's. Whilst this is still an above average (but not exceptional) GCSE performance, I feel I could have done a lot better had my circumstances been better. I went to a bad school, my GCSE targets were only C's and for year 7, 8 and 9 I was placed in fairly low sets full of disruptive students where we got nothing done, this was combined with that because of the set quality we weren't actually taught to achieve high targets obviously.

By the time y10 and 11 came round, I had managed to progress into higher sets, though for a while I was still "behind" to the higher achievers (because of different teaching standards in y7, 8 and 9). I studied hard though, and as stated managed to achieve the results above (well above what was expected me).

Following this I progressed into a very good Sixth form, where I currently study A-levels in History, English, Politics and Law, during this time I have gained a taste in academic studying and personal research, (something I never done at school). Strangely enough despite being at a higher level, I am performing better at A-level than GCSE, although I haven't sat any proper exams yet I seem to be heading towards A's in Law, History and Politics, (though only ranked C at English). I have became use to a higher standard of work though, learnt a great deal more and became use to an academic style of life. Although looking harder at the time, I now look back and see how easy GCSE's actually are, and I feel that despite unlucky circumstances in early secondary school I could have done a great deal better...