Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    hey, so i graduated in 2009 with a Bsc (hons) in Psychology and im currently looked for psychology related work. Ideally, i would like some clinical experience, as im most interested in either going into clinical or counselling psychology.

Basically just wondering if anyone has any good news stories with regards to employment. Im finding it difficult to get even voluntary work in the mental health sector. Im volunteering as a mental health mentor atm, but it hasn't fully gotten underway, and so far it's just been training. I also contacted Samaritans, but i'm not really sure if this is relevant experience.

I've applied for a lot of Ass.Psy jobs, which appear to be the "caviar" of the psychology graduate world. I don't think i've got much of a chance with my lack of experience. A lot of the social support workers/health advisors/therapists/IAPT trainee/research posts all require approx 1-3yrs in clinical setting experience.

This is all very disheartening, but i mean.. Someone must have been where i was, and looking to get some experience. So, nepotism aside, how did they get this experience?

I've looked into assistant school posts, but really.. is there any point, unless im working within say an Autist/aspergers, or special needs school. And i've looked into support worker at ALzheimers/Dementia related care homes, but this isn't what interests me per se. I am mostly interested in adolescent/adult mental health, and not geriatric. Incidentally, most of the care jobs aren't even related to psychological/therapeutic care, but instead simply involve direct personal care - cleaning, feeding, toiletary needs. I'm not saying this is above me, but really.. is there any relevance or reason why this would help me, other than exposure to those with mental health problems. Even then, its rare to see dementia in those pre-50, which would hopefully be who i was working with as a Clin. Psy.