Turn on thread page Beta

What aspects should I look out for when reading gothic novels ? watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm doing coursework in AS English and it's based on gothic.. what should I look out for in the novels ?

ReputationRep:
    Gothic literature is broadly literature which deals with supernatural or just plain scary events, intended to induce fear and suspense in the reader. As suggested in the name 'Gothic', which means 'medieval' in this sense, Gothic fiction tends to be about the dark and mysterious past encroaching on the present. This manifests itself in stories set in crumbling castles, etc.

I'm sure if you search for 'Gothic literature' you'll find some information on the internet. Wikipedia has quite a good article on it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by student_one)
    I'm doing coursework in AS English and it's based on gothic.. what should I look out for in the novels ?
    I am studying 'The Gothic' as a genre currently and there are lots of elements:
    female desire, post structuralism such as subversion, gothic setting, the supernatural, the uncanny, liminal spaces. Feel free to ask anymore help if you want

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by soph0708)
    I am studying 'The Gothic' as a genre currently and there are lots of elements:
    female desire, post structuralism such as subversion, gothic setting, the supernatural, the uncanny, liminal spaces. Feel free to ask anymore help if you want
    Hey, thanks what texts are you studying ?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by student_one)
    Hey, thanks what texts are you studying ?
    No worries!
    Bram Stoker's 'Dracula'
    'The Bloody Chamber' by Angela Carter (sort of feminist gothic, very good)
    'Paradise Lost' John Milton

and you?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by soph0708)
    No worries!
    Bram Stoker's 'Dracula'
    'The Bloody Chamber' by Angela Carter (sort of feminist gothic, very good)
    'Paradise Lost' John Milton

and you?