Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

proof of wilson's theorem by differentiation on fermat's little theorem? watch

ReputationRep:
    Does it work? I'm trying to do it, but keep getting to (p-1)! (three horizontal lines) 0 (mod p), which obviously isn't right.

Could you show how? Bearing in mind I'm an A level student with very little further maths knowledge

ReputationRep:
    You simply cannot differentiate like that with modulo arithmetic. Take for example:

x^5 \equiv 1\mathrm{mod\ 31}

x\equiv 2\mathrm{mod\ 31} is a solution but differentiating the equation as you seem to have done gives

5x^4 \equiv 0\mathrm{mod\ 31} for which the solution doesn't work. Moduluar arithmetic is that little bit more tricky, you need to turn a modular equivalence into an equality for differnetiating

ReputationRep:
    Basically, the set your function operates on, \mathbb{F}_p, doesn't have enough structure to support differentiation. The proof of Wilson's theorem is actually quite easy, and boils down to the observation that every number other than \pm 1 has a unique multiplicative inverse which is not the number itself.

ReputationRep:
    I read somewhere that Wilson's Theorem "follows directly from Fermat's Little Theorem".
    If differentiation like that isn't a correct approach using the Little Theorem as starting point, what is?

ReputationRep:
    I'm not saying there isn't a link, but I'm not really seeing it. The normal approach is as Zhen describes (and in fact, Wilson's theorem is in many ways "simpler" than Fermat's Little Theorem).

ReputationRep:
    http://users.broadsurf.co.uk/johnbul...ninduction.pdf

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DFranklin)
    I'm not saying there isn't a link, but I'm not really seeing it. The normal approach is as Zhen describes (and in fact, Wilson's theorem is in many ways "simpler" than Fermat's Little Theorem).