Turn on thread page Beta

Recommendation on a certain book/author about the Russian Revolution? watch

ReputationRep:
    I wasn't sure if this sub-forum or the 'entertainment -> books' sub-forum was appropriate for this question, but I decided to post on here because you lot would be potentially more helpful.

Anyway, I'm currently studying history AS and we're doing the 'From Autocracy to Dictatorship 1881-1924' unit under the Edexcel specification. I'm interested in further reading about this in order to study outside the limits of the text book and specification. This is because I want to look at it from a historian's point of view as well, I want to see the events as history rather than exam content, and I want to read someone's professional interpretation of this period in order to establish my own personal opinion.

I am aware of one author, possibly the most renowned one, called Orlando Figes. I have been told about his book, A People's Tragedy, but I really am not up for a 900-odd page read. Are there any other decent books that cover the events prior to Stalin's regime and have digestible amounts of information (~200-500 pages) that people could recommend?

Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    Read the "Communist Manifesto" by Marx and Engles to get a theoretical view of communist theory and Russian critique of Capitalism at the time....

ReputationRep:
    We actually did about Marx in history today and I considered that.

I meant originally about books that cover the Russian society, roughly around the dates 1881-1924, and with a broad view of all aspects of the country and the different factors of the transistion; and obviously containing stuff like Marx's ideology.

But I will take your advice and look into the Communist Manifesto as well.

ReputationRep:
    there are a series of books called 'a very short introduction to..'
    these books dont really go into much depth but tell you everything that was important