Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I know this has been discussed before, but the discussion turned into who has more adventure training, and I feel my situation is a little different.

I'm a 23 year old graduate, and have just been accepted into a 5 yr medicine course. I plan on applying for a medical cadetship. Here's my options:

1. Army. Apply for Army bursary, do OTC, apply for Army cadetship.
    2. Navy. Join Royal Marines Reserve for first 2 years, then apply for Navy cadetship.

I would plan on being a MO for at least the 6 year commitment, and maybe longer.

First and foremost, I want to become the most competent doctor I can, and I plan on entering a surgical specialty (probably orthopedics). If either Army or Navy would provide a clear advantage in this area, then that's what I'll pick. I've heard, for example, that it's required to spend 2 years as a general medical officer in the Navy which would delay my training. I do not want this. Is it true?

Secondly, I am looking forward to being deployed, but would not want to be away from home for 2-3 months maximum. How long would deployments be in each case? How long would you be on a ship for if in the Navy?

Lastly, I would like to be stationed in a good area, such as London. How much choice do you have over this and where are young medical officers in each service usually posted?

Also, how would OTC be (socially and otherwise) for a mature student, such as myself?

Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    army is better for surgery...pretty obvious due to actual combat in army as opposed to largely distance by navy....
    you do not choose where you get deployed....as a doctor, you probbably be in a military hospital (selly oak..etc.) and on operations will be jamming waaay behind the front line in most cases

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by infernalcradle)
    army is better for surgery...pretty obvious due to actual combat in army as opposed to largely distance by navy....