Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I've just been offered an interview at a law firm this week for a vacation scheme hopefully with a view to securing a training contract starting in 2012. However, I'm a non-law grad and so will need to complete both a GDL and LPC before then. The problem is that I haven’t had the funds to sign up to a GDL course and now I find out that the 'initial' deadline has passed yesterday for all GDL courses. What does that mean? If I do actually get a TC offer at one of the firms I've applied to, Im going to have to have secured a GDL place somewhere.

So does anyone know how much the initial fee is for GDL courses at the College of Law or BBP law school? And more importantly, is it already too late for me to apply now? And if not, when is the latest deadline in which you can apply? My dilemma is that if I'm unsuccessful in securing a TC before next September, I will have to withdraw from the GDL course due to lack of funds to pay for it.

Any help will be much appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    I have a very similar problem but have heard stories of people signing up to do the GDL literally days before the course starts just because all the course providers really care about is if you have the money. Therefore I was going to wait until I (hopefully) get a training contract offer and then try to apply for a GDL. I'm not sure if this is the wisest plan though, so I wouldn't advise following this.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by punkrockisfreedom)
    I have a very similar problem but have heard stories of people signing up to do the GDL literally days before the course starts just because all the course providers really care about is if you have the money.
    Very true. People on my course (GDL) signed up two days before.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by punkrockisfreedom)