Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hi im wanting to learn to dj but dont have a clue what type of equipment to buy i have some software on my laptop that lets me dj but that is it.
    Can anyone advise me what to buy im a student so dont have that much money!

Many thanks

ReputationRep:
    hey, i'm in a similar position to you.

i've just started lessons at my uni. From what i understand you'll need some decent headphones a mixer and some decks (vinyl or cd's) as a start.

It's all pretty expensive though...

ReputationRep:
    go to pawn shops, people, exactly like you, fancy giving it a go.... buy all the stuff and realise they wont be the next Andy C, Tiesto or whatever overnight and get rid

ReputationRep:
    Um... well.... what do you want to spin? Vinyl, CDs or MP3s.

There is not really a cheap way of doing it, cheapest I guess would be a second hand mixer and pair of CD players off ebay. You'll need 'phones and an amp/speaker package as well.

What software have you got? Best way would be a pair of decks, mixer and timecoded vinyls. Using tracktor, Serato or Virtual DJ. Thats expensive though...

Any of these, but the only ones I know much about are the Numark and Rane (Serato) systems.
    http://www.decks.co.uk/products/DVS_...l_Vinyl_System

On top of that you need the hardware - decks, mixer, possibly soundcard, amp and speakers.

ReputationRep:
    im wanting to be a club dj at some point and apprently clubs tend to use cds and that? Just wanting to use cds and maybe vinyl at some point but just cds atm

ReputationRep:
    Club jocks are 10 to a penny. You have to be pretty good before they will look at you.

And not sure where you go out, but most DJs I know use laptops these days, timecoded CDs/Vinyl is the way to be going.

ReputationRep:
    Newcastle!

Submit reply
TSR Support Team