Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi there. I need some advice please. I am an employed solicitor presently and I have a law degree with honours. I wanted to do law and so I took a law degree. Now I want to teach music. I have been in touch with the TDA but it seems like I am going to have to start from scratch.

My only music knowledge is ABRSM grades 1, 2 and 3 in music theory and in piano and grade 2 in flute. I still play the piano and am studying music theory grade 4.

50% of my degree has to be music based but it isn't so does this mean I have to do a music degree now?

I wanted to know if there is a conversion course or something? If you have any degree other than law and want to have a career in law, you can do the Common Professional Exam but I don't see anything similar for converting other degrees into something else, in my case, law into music.

Even to do a music degree, I expect I will have to have A level music and/or Grade 8 in an instrument.

I am in my late 30s - I'm already thinking this is going to be a long journey and so many people have said law is a good degree to get under your belt as it is versatile - rubbish!

Any advice please? Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Troooooollllllllllllllllllllll

ReputationRep:
    Go do whatever you feel. I am also feeling that way now. I am a lawyer and currently taking my Ll.M. But sometimes I feel that the study of law is too serious and requires much mental thinking that I want to do simpler things that I enjoy.

Of course my law degree has given me many opportunities in life but I feel that I want to try other things too. For the last nine years I have succeeded in obtaining my law degree proper, passing the bar, and working. But now, I'm thinking, after my Ll.M., I also want to try re-discovering my other interests.

ReputationRep:
    Troooooollllllllllllllllllllll