Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I am a university lecturer who teaches student paramedics and am keen to ask what students enjoy, and don't enjoy about lectures. I have a rough idea as I am qualified but I may be missing something crucial that I had not even considered.

I look forward to your responses :0)

ReputationRep:
    I'm a nursing student, and am more likely to pay attention to humour, images, videos, pictures, and also clear concise facts i can add notes too- ie i'd rather WRITE down my own notes rather than everything being thrown at me via powerpoint, a handout is useful but it needs space to add own person notes, if im writing - im more likely to pay attention

ReputationRep:
    I have not started university yet but personally i enjoy debates and discussions for part of a lecture rather then the teacher talking constantly for an hour straight. i learn easier with discussions

ReputationRep:
    Im at college still but as far as ive seen the teachers who let the lesson relax more tend to be the ones whose lessons i enjoy. Humour is important. Lessons that are made to seem less formal than they are are the best ones. Hope this helps :-D

ReputationRep:
    power-point is good, just don't put size 8 black writing on a dark blue background. One of my lecturers does this, it is impossible to read.

However, don't just read off the slide, it gets very boring and people will stop going to your lecture, make sure to add stuff. Also, make the slides available online before the lecture so people can print them off to annotate.

ReputationRep: