Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I'm a current 1st year student on a Comp Sci undergraduate degree at an above average university, and if I'm honest, I want to be able to get my Maths up to A-level standard (or at least AS)

I don't find much of the Maths on my course to be difficult upto now. I will find out in a few weeks of how well I can do tougher maths. (Vectors, Dot Product, Power Series, Matrices (Inverse))

I'm pondering the thought of a home study AS-Level in Maths.

I feel my Maths formal qualification is letting me down, as I only got a C at GCSE.

What are the best places to look for possible home study and examination facilities?

How are home study courses structured, (I am thinking in terms of exams, coursework etc. because university does NOT like moving examinations)

Although I only have a C at GCSE, I can do basic differentiation and integration (possibly C1 material), co-ordinate geometry and an understanding of matrices and how to perform arithmetic operations with them.

Any help and resources is helpful and greatly appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by db_bondy)
    Hello,

I'm pondering the thought of a home study AS-Level in Maths.

What are the best places to look for possible home study and examination facilities?

How are home study courses structured, (I am thinking in terms of exams, coursework etc. because university does NOT like moving examinations)

Any help and resources is helpful and greatly appreciated.
    No coursework for As/A2 maths unless you choose the OCR-MEI specification (so don't)

Edexcel is probably the best choice as it's the most common so easier to find an exam centre. Specification etc here:
    http://www.edexcel.com/quals/gce/gce...s/default.aspx