Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys, i've got this bottle of wine which frankly was piss cheap and is only good for putting into food (i tried drinking it today and it was disgusting!). I cooked a beef stew the other day so the only meats i've got to base it around are bacon, sausages or turkey (Which i was kind of saving for a chicken in white wine sauce but doesn't really matter) or it could be a vegetarian meal, i've got quite a few veg kicking around.

I'm a fairly decent cook and have quite a well stocked cupboard of herbs and bits and bobs and was wondering if you had any suggestions for meals which aren't to expensive or fiddly to make?

Thanks in advance!

ReputationRep:
    With no red meats, using red wine is pretty difficult as the flavour doesn't really work with what you've got left.

The only suggestion I've got is posh sausage and mash - make some olive oil mash (same way as normal mash but half butter and half olive oil), fry/grill/oven cook the sausages and make a red wine sauce (fry off some red onions with whatever herbs you've got until really caramelised, then some sugar and the red wine, put it on a high heat until it thickens.)

DONE.

ReputationRep:
    Yeah, that could work. Cunning plan! I don't know why i'm really thinking about cooking more meals right now, i've got 3 portions of soup, 2 of stew and stir fry cooked from my cooking spree these last few days!

ReputationRep:
    You don't have to use wine up as quickly in cooking - it's fine to keep it for a few weeks, just adding a little bit here and there (to pasta sauces, stews etc.)

I reckon a little bit in a sausage casserole with tomatoes could be good.

I like this vegetarian recipe which has red wine in it too. http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4...et-potato-mash.

ReputationRep:
    Beef bourguignon. :yep:

ReputationRep:
    Really.