Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I'm hoping someone clued up on finance can help. I am a mature student and have applied to do my BEd. However, student finance have informed me this morning that I don't qualify for any help with fees etc as I have had previous years of support. I started Uni in 1999 and again in 2001. I dropped out on both occasions after 3 months as my Mum was poorly and later relapsed and there was no way I could continue my studies whilst she was like that. Both loans have been fully repaid.
    Is it right that they are refusing me on these grounds? Is there anything I can do about it? There's no way I can manage without support so will have to scrap my teaching dreams if this is the case.
    TIA.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by CarlyC-H)
    Hi,
    I'm hoping someone clued up on finance can help. I am a mature student and have applied to do my BEd. However, student finance have informed me this morning that I don't qualify for any help with fees etc as I have had previous years of support. I started Uni in 1999 and again in 2001. I dropped out on both occasions after 3 months as my Mum was poorly and later relapsed and there was no way I could continue my studies whilst she was like that. Both loans have been fully repaid.
    Is it right that they are refusing me on these grounds? Is there anything I can do about it? There's no way I can manage without support so will have to scrap my teaching dreams if this is the case.
    TIA.