Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I graduated last year from Imperial with a 3rd in Physics ()
    Long story short I didn't really get on with the course, I didn't party loads, just didn't really do much work as I pretty much hated it. I got straight A's at A-level (maths, chem, physics).

I would like to do the ACA qualification, but obviously applying with a 3rd is pretty pointless as I'm sure they'll just put my application in the bin!

My choices from here seem to be either:
    1) Do a masters (not in physics!), hopefully do a lot better than in my BSc then apply for ACA after that.
    2) Apply for AAT training contracts with the hope of going on to do ACA afterwards.

Does anyone have any experience in this situation or any advice? Thanks in advance

ReputationRep:
    Most big firms won't be interested in a Masters no matter what grade you get as you don't have a 2:1 or above in your first degree (as you didn't know this I think you need to research entry requirements more) Also which university will accept you for a masters with a 3rd?

You can try for AAT but I think your degree will still count against you unfortunately. You might be better off going to college and doing some AAT modules yourself to show that you are serious about it.

ReputationRep:
    Hi Guys I have a similar question. I will graduate with a 2.1 in economics from the University of Nottingham and contemplating on doing either a Masters in Accounting and Finance from Cass/Lancaster or give the ACCA exams whilst I look for a job. I have no interest in doing a masters except to gain knowledge because a lot of small to mid tier firms look for "business or accounting" graduates.

ReputationRep:
    That is an excellent degree to have. Generally professional qualifications such as the ACA/ACCA are considered equivalent level qualifications to a Masters degree and in the accounting world I would say employers value them more than a Masters as they have a more practical focus.