Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I am applying to do Dietetics and I have my first interview in a few weeks. Has anyone had a interview like this? Or any good tips/advice?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm a second year dietetic student, and had my interview very nearly two years ago to the day. It would probably vary from place to place, but at Chester we had a group interview/task, enabling us to show how we can communicate and work in a group etc. Then there was a one-to-one interview. For this I was asked for examples of how I manage time, have I worked in a team, what does a dietitian do? You have to thoroughly research the role of a dietitian and have an awareness of current health issues.

Where have you applied?

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for getting back to me - thats really helpful! I am applying to Kings, London Met, Queen Margarets and my interview is at Hertfordshire. I've done a lot of research into dietetics and nutrition so fingers crossed! Do you have any books/magazines youc ould recommend?

ReputationRep:
    Hi, sorry for late reply - been very busy with assignments (

Don't know if it would be worth looking at any books or magazines for the interview - I could only suggest a dietitian magazines, such as NHD (Network Health Dietitians) but not sure if you have to be a dietitian student to subscribe. A book I've found good is called Counselling Skills for Dietitians, by Gable. There are obviously plenty of science nutrition books but I think at this level they would just expect you to have researched the role and keep aware of current health/science issues and know a bit about the NHS, as you say you are doing.

Let me know how you get on x

ReputationRep:
    any idea what to expect from Surrey Uni and Hedfortshire Uni for dietetics interview?

Submit reply
Turn on thread page Beta
TSR Support Team