Turn on thread page Beta

becoming a barrister after a maths degree watch

ReputationRep:
    can this be done with a conversion course or is maths degree too different from law, sorry i'm completely ignorant in this matter, all feedback is much appreciated, cheers

ReputationRep:
    any first degree is fine as a starting point. (uni, grades, Ecs, Experience, Personality aside) all a degree is is a couple of years saying you can learn, people falsely think "oh I studies physics I am a scientist". Without expereince a degree is just a bit of paper. So as a simplistic answer maths is not a problem

ReputationRep:
    Yes, maths is fine as long as you get a 2.2 minimum.

Then you need to do the GDL (conversion course) which is one year long and studies the 7 core modules of an undergraduate law degree.

After which you will need to undertake the BPTC (previously the BVC) which is also one year and teaches you the more practical aspects of a career as a barrister such as advocacy and negotiation skills.

Finally, you will need to secure a pupillage (one year training in a set of chambers) and this is very competitive

If you want to ask anything else, feel free to pm me - I am currently studying the GDL with the intention of doing the BPTC in September

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by legaleagle87)

Then you need to do the GDL (conversion course) which is one year long and studies the 7 core modules of an undergraduate law degree.

After which you will need to undertake the BPTC (previously the BVC) which is also one year and teaches you the more practical aspects of a career as a barrister such as advocacy and negotiation skills.

Finally, you will need to secure a pupillage (one year training in a set of chambers) and this is very competitive

If you want to ask anything else, feel free to pm me - I am currently studying the GDL with the intention of doing the BPTC in September
    What's your undergrad degree in? Just wondering, I'm already doing Law.