Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm aware that this probably asked a lot. And I have a vague idea. But ideally what is a good way? I just started a new routine at the gym which was recommended to me here as follows:

3x5 squat

3x5 bench press

1x5 deadlift

and then every other day:

3x5 squat

3x5 press

3x5 barbell row

I start and finish every session with a 10 minute run on the treadmill. After the last run I do crunches, plank position and then stretch. I've been doing these exercises for like 3 months now and there's no real improvement. though in fairness I can't hold the plank very long (maybe 30 seconds, so i do it twice). every other guy seems to have 'better' abs than me, so it cant be that hard- I'm willing to put in the effort afterall.

do crunches (sit-ups) help? how often/how many times a day should I do them? comments on my routine as it is? thanks.

ReputationRep:
    if you want defined abs you will have to go on a cut and reduce body fat levels..

ReputationRep:
    It isn't hard to get defined abs the only way is to reduce your body fat and do abodominal exercises. To reduce your body fat you would have to change your diet by making your main food filling, by this i mean steamed vegtables and boiled potatoe and not as much meat as you would normally have. Also you would have to work in the aneerobic threshold which is the wieght loss zone, I would recomned jogging and swimming.

The final part is tonning the abs which is the easy part, the best exercise is abdominal crunches but rember its good form over quantity, add weights for variation.

ReputationRep:
    Inb4 abs are made in the kitchen, not the gym.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by puma21)