Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi Guys,

Is a 1st anything above 70%?

I am a mature student and I started at University this year.

I received my first exam grade and my assignment grade on Friday, scoring 96% and 73% respectively.

Very happy with myself, and just felt like I had to share!

Will the 73% go down as a 1st?

Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Once you have completed your 3 year degree, if your overall grade is 70% or higher then yes, you have acheived a first.

Congrats on your assignment.
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    I was under the impression that some unis capped results... so would give the top X percent a first, then the next y amount a 2i and so on. Could well be wrong.

<3

ReputationRep:
    70% and above is a first! Congrats on your excellent results!

ReputationRep:
    Thanks guys, part of me was thinking it was 75% and above.

I still would have been happy if that was the case, but I am really pleased with myself. I have one more exam result to come, so I will keep you posted on that.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by paddy__power)
    I was under the impression that some unis capped results... so would give the top X percent a first, then the next y amount a 2i and so on. Could well be wrong.

<3
    No they don't

Not officially anyway, but they might mark on a curve (so if your borderline and many people got a first you might get 69)

The way degree marks are calculated are easy to find on uni websites/departmental booklets etc...

ReputationRep:
    Generally, yes. Marks are still open to moderation and adjustment until a while after they're published. But yeah, it's a 1st
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by crackingod)
    No they don't

Not officially anyway, but they might mark on a curve (so if your borderline and many people got a first you might get 69)

The way degree marks are calculated are easy to find on uni websites/departmental booklets etc...