Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a NY lawyer considering moving to London as an expat. Firms I could potentially interview with are Latham, Linklaters, Weil and White & Case. I'll be doing capital markets work. Which firm should I shoot for? What are the hours like at these firms? Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by flugestuge)
    Chalks should be able to give you useful advice.
    He is one of the more knowledgeable solicitors on this board ( when he is not surfing in Sydney ). Alternatively, the forum Roll on Friday may be useful.
    Cha-ching. Best swell we've had in 2 months.

http://www.realsurf.com/2010/02/07/p...y-sunday-arvo/

No useful advice available at this time. Please call again later.

ReputationRep:
    It's fabulous today. Swell is still pushing through, wind has turned offshore, size has dropped off so that the Point is holding.

Sorry, am I boring you all?

Move to Oz guys...this is what we do before we go to work

http://saltmotion.com/

ReputationRep:
    Just got back from central London. Train was 20minutes late, nearly froze to death waiting for it in an icy wind, and it started snowing. I can see the attraction of moving to Oz...

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I do not know a great deal about these US firms, except that they are VERY coveted firms to work for in London, i would say rivalling the Magic Circile firms.

Weil in London is known as THE place for private equity and restructuring/insolvency, so you may want to bear that in mind. The head of recruitment there is Jillian Singh, and she is very approachable and welcoming to email enquiries; her email can be founf on the Weil website.

Are you a qualified UK solicitor as well as NY? Im sure you know already, but if you are not UK qualified, you can take the Qualified Lawayers Transfer test, which will allow you to become Uk qualified. Info can be found from the SRA website.

I hope this is in some way constructive.