Turn on thread page Beta

Prescriptions and HC3 form - Help! watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,
    I'm currently a university student living at home. I receive both a bursary (850ish) and the maintenance grant. I completed and sent off the HC1 form 2 weeks ago. I received a HC3 certificate a few days ago which states that I am entitled to certain amount of help with dental treatment and sight tests. However, there is no mention of prescriptions.

So, what I wanted to ask was:
    1) Does this mean I am not entitled to any help with prescription costs?
    2) If I am/could be, what form(s) do I need for this?

Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by GrublersBiyatch)
    Hey guys,
    I'm currently a university student living at home. I receive both a bursary (850ish) and the maintenance grant. I completed and sent off the HC1 form 2 weeks ago. I received a HC3 certificate a few days ago which states that I am entitled to certain amount of help with dental treatment and sight tests. However, there is no mention of prescriptions.

So, what I wanted to ask was:
    1) Does this mean I am not entitled to any help with prescription costs?
    2) If I am/could be, what form(s) do I need for this?

Thanks.
    As I understand it, they don't just assess your income, they assess your requirement for prescriptions:

(Original post by http://www.nhs.uk/NHSEngland/Healthcosts/Pages/Prescriptioncosts.aspx)
    You will qualify for a full help HC2 certificate (which includes free NHS prescriptions) if your income is less than or equal to your requirements, or your income is greater than your requirements by no more than half the current English prescription charge.

You will qualify for a limited help HC3 certificate if your income is greater than your requirements by more than half the current English prescription charge. The HC3 certificate shows how much you have to pay towards your health costs.