Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    ---

ReputationRep:
    Wahey this could be interesting; how my philosophy degree will be worthless before I've even started it :/. No idea what I'm going to do neither but hell I have some time before I really need to decide. Best of luck

ReputationRep:
    I'm a teacher and can maybe help you with a couple of these.

I currently operate as an unqualified teacher in an independent school, so can't help you with the PGCE question :o:

However, I've also never been the most confident person in the world either and it definitely doesn't stop you from teaching. You just have to swallow it quick and get on with things! I'm also totally different now to how I was in my first year at uni; those extra years add a bit more maturity and confidence when it comes to getting up in front of a class. The only thing you may find a bit tricky (and I admit it's my weakest point too) is behaviour management (worst with Y8 for me - my other classes are fine) so even if you don't do a PGCE it's worth going on a course just for that. The rest is just being organised and knowing your subject...everything else sort of writes itself.

It's also not too late (at all!) to get relevant work experience. I had a bit from when I was in the sixth form, but after that I didn't do any until I was on my master's and I still didn't have trouble finding employment in a good international school that has several sites. Join SAS at your uni if possible (I would have done this but it clashed with other things I was doing at uni), do the Aimhigher scheme if you can, and ring up local schools to see if you can come in one afternoon a week, even if it's only to observe.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by somethingbeautiful)
    1) My degree is Philosophy - not a curricular subject. Is it even possible for me to do a PGCE?

2) Frankly, I'm not a confident person. Have I lost before I've even left the blocks?