Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Good evening guys and girls,

I'm considering self studying A-level Economics along with A-level Maths starting in September. Has anyone done this? Is economics a subject that is well-suited to self-study?

I'm pretty sure that I wont have a problem with Maths.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Regards, Leon

(Original post by LeonLorenzo)
    Good evening guys and girls,

I'm considering self studying A-level Economics along with A-level Maths starting in September. Has anyone done this? Is economics a subject that is well-suited to self-study?

I'm pretty sure that I wont have a problem with Maths.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Regards, Leon
    Yeah it's possible to do this. I self taught the A Level with Edexcel. When I self studied it I used a textbook and some revision guides. I used the Alain Anderton textbook just to give an overall view of the topics while the revision guides were used for more specific revision. One key concept with Economics at A Level is exam technique. Having good exam technique can help you gain a lot of marks. The best way to improve this is by doing past papers which you can do on your own and then mark them yourself so you know what is expected of you when it comes to the exams.

What exam board are you looking to do A Level Economics with? I think that you would need to pick a board that does not have a coursework element since these cannot be moderated.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by thetopnotch)