Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Should I go to uni? Relationship/life related Watch

ReputationRep:
    I turn 21 in May. I've been with my girlfriend for ~16 months & we live together. I'm in my final year of training to be an electrician (not employed in the industry though), and am thinking about my career prospects. I've always wanted to study it at HND level, and move into design engineering.

I suffered with mental illness before I met my girlfriend, which basically meant I didn't do anything academically until I was 19. When I finish college, I'll have the right qualifications to go onto Uni, but that's my dilemma.

I want to go, but don't want to at the same time. I want to go because it's something I enjoy, it'll lead to a more enjoyable career for me with a better salary. I'll be in a better position to provide for my girlfriend/kids (should we have any).

I don't want to go, because it'll add an extra 2 years onto any plans we have. An extra 2 years before we're in a position to buy a house, get married, potentially have kids. My girlfriend finishes uni this year, and I think it's unfair that everything should be delayed for 2 years for my sake. We'd carry on living together if I went to uni, presumably she'd find a job & I'd do whatever work I could fit around studying. We'd be ~ 2 hours from home.

She says she doesn't mind, and is happy as long as I'm happy, but the look on her face when she realised everything would be delayed by 2 years said otherwise.

I want to go, because in the long-term it'll be better for both of us - both financially and in terms of my health (my Dad is a tradesman, he's constantly in pain from doing a manual job all of his life, so I can only presume being an electrician for the next 40+ years will have the same effect on me). But in the short-medium term, it'll mean not much money and putting everything on hold, just because of me.

Advice/opinions? I'm really not sure what to do.