Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys!
    I was on a Middle Year PGCE for 2009-2010, but left the course as the closer it got to going to the secondary placement, the more terrified I got! My degree is in English Language, and I was on Middle Years English course, but the majority of secondary school English is Literature - which I've always struggled with! - and I spent some time trying to work with teenagers but really couldn't do it! (The attitudes were too much for me to handle aged 21, and just brought back horrible memories of school)

Now I've explained the background, here's my question.....

Would I be able to apply through the GTTR again for either Sept 2010 (there are a few places still available) or Sept 2011, this time for a Primary PGCE??? Primary is what I've always wanted to do, but stupidly thought Middle Years would be a good experience, look good on the CV etc etc.

I think I could make a strong application as I currently work in a tuition centre and also volunteer in a school. I'm just not sure if you are allowed to reapply for a new course if you have dropped out from a course previously?!?!?

If anyone has any info I would be sooooooo grateful!

ReputationRep:
    you'd be allowed to reapply but there might be a problem if course providers see that you dropped out of a previous PGCE, they might have some doubts about it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by gemmyj)
    Hey guys!
    I was on a Middle Year PGCE for 2009-2010, but left the course as the closer it got to going to the secondary placement, the more terrified I got! My degree is in English Language, and I was on Middle Years English course, but the majority of secondary school English is Literature - which I've always struggled with! - and I spent some time trying to work with teenagers but really couldn't do it! (The attitudes were too much for me to handle aged 21, and just brought back horrible memories of school)