Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, after my gap year i am a undergrad at Newcastle University studying Law. I do have decisions to make on what career i want to pursue, but in particular the world of IB has caught my eye. Thing is, i have done zero research so far and intend to look into it deeply from now to see if it is for me.

Problem is that i have a zero maths background, only a Maths GCSE. Would it be doable to take a Maths course to satisfy the basic requirements? Also, will a first in Law get my foot through the door ?

I'm a noob at the minute but point me towards the right direction and i'll look for what i will.

ReputationRep:
    What area of IB are you specifically interested in? or is your interest based on $$$?

It is possible to get in from Newcastle Uni, but only the most motivated students stand a chance. You need to ask yourself is this something you really want.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by unsung_hero)
    What area of IB are you specifically interested in? or is your interest based on $$$?

It is possible to get in from Newcastle Uni, but only the most motivated students stand a chance. You need to ask yourself is this something you really want.
    Obviously the money is a motivating factor, but it is overstated in the sense that living costs will be way higher in London. So, i'm ambivalent on that one.

I'm intending to go for middle office, in the risk management field. I just need a sense of direction on where i can max my chances of getting in, i'm highly motivated and will take whatever course in my spare time.

ReputationRep:
    Why not compliance? You'll struggle to get in to risk without Maths A-Level. Do Maths & Further Maths A-Levels in your gap year.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by The IC Guy)
    Why not compliance? You'll struggle to get in to risk without Maths A-Level. Do Maths & Further Maths A-Levels in your gap year.