Turn on thread page Beta

changing course whilst in the first year help! watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    hii! i'm currently in my first year studying film and visual effects at sheffield hallam but i'm really hating the course, i think it's cause it's not how i expected it to be with film and some visual efffect stuff rather than visual effects and picking up a camera once in the year :/!
    plus i don't like the teaching style

i've arranged a meeting with the education guidance people on friday to talk to them, but i really wanna change to a course involving early years education

particularly, early years education with QTS and also early childhood studies

both of these i have the relevant qualifications necessary but not enough recent work experience, which i could try and gain between may and july while i've broke up.

my main question is, do you think it is realistic to be able to change to one of these radically different courses at such a late point, even if it is to start in year one in september, or are these courses seriously competitive
    thanks!

ReputationRep:
    by the way i'm wanting to change to one of those courses at hallam!

ReputationRep:
    Considering you're in the 2nd term now, it'll be ridiculously hard to change to that course now, within this academic year. But, like you suggested, you should be able to start the course in September. It shouldn't be too competitive for you considering you're already a student there. Tbh, it really does depend on your uni and I don't know enough about Hallam's uni policies on this issue so it's hard to judge how easy it would be. But Early Years Education doesn't strike me as that much of a competitive course so hopefully you shouldn't have too many problems in changing courses. Talk to your personal tutor, they'll be able to give you better advice than any of us on this forum.

I have a feeling none of that made sense/was helpful at all...:p: