Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am a Year 12 student that harbours aspirations to read History at Oxford. I am aware of the importance placed on the Personal Statement, but have one important question.

Do you submit the same personal statement to all the universities on your UCAS choices, or can you modify it for Oxford?

Answers will be appreciated, thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Same one to all unis.

ReputationRep:
    "harbours aspirations"...

Sorry, that made me lol.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MagicCircleBoy)
    "harbours aspirations"...

Sorry, that made me lol.
    Haha I agree! I was just about to put a comment about it up.

OP - don't write like that in your PS; even if it is your normal style, admissions tutors will just think that you are trying to impress them and it won't work.
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    Same for all. You don't need to do a specific one anyway.

ReputationRep:
    Yes, the personal statement is the same, but don't worry about having to write anything particularly special for Oxford. Other factors (HAT, written work, interview) will all be far more important. Your personal statement will play far more of a role with any other universities you apply for.

ReputationRep:
    Please don't write like that in your PS, will do more harm than good.

ReputationRep:
    I quite liked the harboured aspirations, but not so much the 'one important question' which turned out to be a little disappointing.

ReputationRep:
    It seems like everyone that's posted on this thread is going to or goes to Oxford.

I congratulate all of you on your brains.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Brown1)
    I am a Year 12 student that harbours aspirations to read History at Oxford. I am aware of the importance placed on the Personal Statement, but have one important question.

Do you submit the same personal statement to all the universities on your UCAS choices, or can you modify it for Oxford?