Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey

I was wondering if anyone knew if there are any websites or book to do with understanding reaction mechanisms

I am in my second year of university, and im finding my lack of understanding mechanisms annoying. I feel as if i need to have a good understanding of mechanisms, so someone can give me a mechanism and i can be like 'oh there is an OH group, so that must go to the nitrogen' if people understand me.

So yea, if anyone knows how i can find a resource that will make me competent with reaction mechanisms in general, that would be a great help
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    (Original post by nolybear)
    Hey

I was wondering if anyone knew if there are any websites or book to do with understanding reaction mechanisms

I am in my second year of university, and im finding my lack of understanding mechanisms annoying. I feel as if i need to have a good understanding of mechanisms, so someone can give me a mechanism and i can be like 'oh there is an OH group, so that must go to the nitrogen' if people understand me.

So yea, if anyone knows how i can find a resource that will make me competent with reaction mechanisms in general, that would be a great help
    Hey

I've used this website in the past for it,it's been pretty useful:

ChemGuide

Hope that helps

ReputationRep:
    Hey

Chemguide might be a good start if you are very "green" to reaction mechanism, but since you are in second year of uni, I highly doubt it, unless your first year didn't cover a lot of organic chem. Have you tried reading from textbooks, ie Clayden organic chem is pretty good for undergrad study, but start off with peter sykes, guidebook to mechanism in organic chemistry. Have a look through it first before clayden.