The Student Room Group

Muslim - Pressure to get in Relationship

I am feeling under pressure to get a girlfriend despite being a muslim. Im in my 2nd year of medicine at university. In typical university life people are expected to get in to a relationship. I am a good looking and confident guy and I could get a girlfriend if I wanted to but I don’t attempt to. A lot of my male friends who are not muslim initially are shocked at my lack of interest in girls, also some muslim guys are always trying to get girls. I sometimes feel like I am considered odd in someway for refraining from showing interest. My girl friends and new girls I meet also find it strange when they find out I don’t have a girl friend or show no interest in getting one. I dont see why I have to justify myself to anyone, surely there are catholic and jewish people in their early 20's in the same position. I have 4 more years of university and I am starting to feel the social pressure. Its not as if I am gay or anything or that I couldn’t get a girlfriend, in fact a few girls have tried to express their interest. I feel people are categorizing me as a bit strange rather than respecting my stance on no sex before marriage.
Reply 1
No, noone is expecting you to get into a relationship. If you're strong-minded enough yourself you do not need to get into a relationship just to please others, be happy how you are! Yeah, your mates might be shocked that you don't want to get into a relationship but you could easily just put that down to personal preference. :dontknow:. If you really feel the need to get into a relationship, then it's of course upto you, but really you should only do it because you want to and not because others expect you to. :smile:
Reply 2
why 'despite being a muslim'? why is that of consequence?

if you want a gf, get one, but the temptation to **** may be too great for you :rolleyes:
Reply 3
dichr0ic
why 'despite being a muslim'? why is that of consequence?