Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

The future of graduate entry medicine ... watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I have been thinking about graduate entry medicine for some time now and have a few concerns about the future. I am looking to reapply to medicine in about 2/3 years time. Firstly, now that the fee caps have come off, I was talking to someone at college who was saying that the universities in general may well be charging about £7,000 per year in tuition fees in 3 years time and that the medical schools could be charging something like £10,000 per year. So if i was a graduate on a 5 year course i'm looking at paying £40,000 up front in fees which is absolutely ridiculous! Is this likely to happen or do you guys think the fees for medicine will hover around £4000.

The other concern I have is about the entry requirements in terms of degree classifications. I have heard from people now in 2010, that to stand a good chance of getting in, grads need to be predicted or obtained a first class degree even thought the requirements are 2.1 minimum. Some of my friends are convinced that by the time I get round to reapplying the requirements would have changed and that graduates will be required to have 1st class degrees.

What are people's views (especially current grad medics/grad applicants) on these issues? Is it likely that this will be the future of grad medicine? If so, it does seem odd to me given that the whole point of grad med was to widen access to medicine as a profession. If they do this, they will be losing out on many applicants who would make great doctors. i have a horrible feeling that some of these may apply in 3/4/5 years...

ReputationRep: