Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

wanting to do early years education watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    i'm currently studying film and visual effects at sheffield hallam , but realised around december time it's completely not for me but i've always had an interest in primary school teaching, particularly infant school age

on friday i'm meeting with my guidance counsellor to discuss what i should do but the two courses i've been looking at are
    early years education with qualified teacher status and the other is early childhood studies

i'm only wanting to transfer courses to start year one of a new course in september 2010 not change to a different university

i just wanted to know if anyone had ever been in a similar situation and what they did - or if anyone has some advice for me i'd gladly appreciate it!

ReputationRep:
    Not much I can help with here im afraid, although I would suggest you do the course with QTS as otherwise you will need to do a PGCE after the course!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by sam.hunton)
    Not much I can help with here im afraid, although I would suggest you do the course with QTS as otherwise you will need to do a PGCE after the course!
    i know about the PGCE anyway and would probably do it either straight after the degree in early childhood studies or try see if i can get a job in schools with that degree.

the only problem with the QTS degree is that i don't have a B at alevel in a national curriculum subject, i have a C in english language, C in media and a D in art.

i'd need to gain some more relevant experience in a school environment if i was to get accepted

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by bethanyrae)
    i know about the PGCE anyway and would probably do it either straight after the degree in early childhood studies or try see if i can get a job in schools with that degree.