Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm a second year English student at the University of Lincoln. In September I'm going to apply to do my secondary PGCE starting in 2011. I'm loving CCCU and the University of Cumbria because they do English with drama and media 11-18.

I'm currently doing a placement at a secondary special school in Lincoln and signed up for the students associates scheme at Bishop Grossteste College. The course leader pushed me into doing primary as I'm male and they want more men in primary schools. I asked him would this affect my chances at a secondary PGCE. He said no but I've emailed a few places and they seem to think it does. Lincoln university don't have links with local secondary schools (I live here anyway full time) so I'm at a complete loss. I emailed him and got a *****y repsonse back saying he'll do what he can. Can anyone give me some advice please........

ReputationRep:
    Don't be pressured into doing the primary PGCE if that's not what you want to do. Being male may make university providers a little more keen to take you on, but when it comes to getting a job schools aren't going to favour you because you're male.
    I'm not sure what you are referring to when you mention affecting your chances at a secondary PGCE - doing the SAS at primary level or being male? Either way, you won't be discriminated against.

ReputationRep:
    hey, what I meant by affecting my chances at a secondary PGCE was doing to primary SAS, its all good experience but I did feel really pressured at the interview to do it. I have got some experience with the special secondary school placement but not sure if thats enough. Thanks though!!

ReputationRep: