Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Dear all,

I am a second year undergraduate at Hull University. I did my first year in 07/08 and then decided to move away from home in 08/09, but had to later intercalate due to financial problems. I am currently repeating the year, but not enjoying it. I wish I had now applied for Single Honours Theology, instead of a Joint Honours course.

I also feel sidelined because I am repeating the year, whilst all my friends will be graduating in the summer. I am still living at home and have no job and little money. It takes about an hour (each way) to commute to my University. I am unable to drive due to nystagmus ( a visual condition).

I recently received my first essay back. It was graded only at 39%, but I managed to average a high 2.1 grade in my first year. I have a note taker and the department has a policy of sending letters to students if they miss two lectures.

Clearly, in the economic climate, it is probably not the wisest decision to quit my degree without any idea of what to do next. I feel like I am doing it to manage other people's expectations. Someone at my Church said yesterday that I spend more time arguing with my professors than doing the work. I enjoy the subject, but clearly different Universities offer different syllabuses. Nottingham, DurhAm and Oxford, for instance, have maintained a traditional focus on Christian Theology.

I don't receive my first semester exam results until next week, but only had chance to complete one question, rather than two. I have already received two and a half years of funding.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by greenbanana)
    Dear all,