Turn on thread page Beta

Just how important is it to graduate from the "top" universities, if......... watch

ReputationRep:
    ...you're considering a career in academia?

I have a big decision to make right now, and I'd really appreciate some opinions or advice from you guys.
    I have an English degree (Honours, 1.1.) and I want to study Evolutionary Psychology at masters level; here are the places I can apply, in order of prestige:

Oxford
    St Andrews
    University of Liverpool

The first two require that I take a conversion course (lasting 1 year, maybe 2). However, I could almost certainly get into Liverpool without a conversion course (as long as I sell myself well).

I don't know what to do. I'm considering an academic career, along with journalism and writing of some kind.

I love university and study. But I am going to have a very hard time paying for fees and living expenses in general.

Should I go straight for Liverpool, to save money?
    Would I be better off doing the conversion courses, and shooting for the bigger universities?

ReputationRep:
    You will be expected to have graduated from the top universities. ALL OF THEM!!!!!!

But, nah, I don't think it matters much. Besides, this is only the destination for your Masters, right? If you perform well at that level, then you could "easily" do your PhD at Oxford or St. Andrews or wherever else is good for EvPsych.

It seems kind of a waste of time and money, to me, to do a two-year conversion course so that you can maybe get in at Oxford/St. Andrews and thereby slightly increase your chances at progressing down a career path you are considering.

ReputationRep:
    It's not worth wasting at least 1 year, maybe 2. Liverpool is cheaper and fine.

ReputationRep:
    I was thinking the extra year (2 years is a bit much...) would look better on my CV - as well as being great enjoyment for me (I really love college, and the masters in Liverpool is only 1 year).