Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Sorry, this probably belongs to the technology forum, but given that what I want to know about pertains to my university work, I thought I'd post it here.

Basically, my laptop is knackered, and I don't have the money to buy a full blown ~£400 new one, but I've noticed netbooks are substantially cheaper in most cases, more like ~£200, which I could afford.

Thing is, I'm a bit technologically challenged, and I'm not really sure what a netbook is compared with a laptop.

All I use my laptop for is for typing up essays and coursework, storing these essays, and browsing the internet. I'm an arts student, so I never use power points, spreadsheets, graphics programmes, etc and I don't store music or pictures. All I need is some sort of Word programme for my essays and the Internet for email, research, facebook, etc.
    I rarely work on the go, my uni room is wired, so I'm not worried about battery capacity.

So my question is, does it sound like a netbook will be enough to meet my (pretty minimal) needs?

ReputationRep:
    If I was you I would opt for a laptop despite the additional cost. For one thing a small screen is going to be a pain in the arse in terms of trying to see what you're doing properly (at least for me it would be- I need a normal screen to have both the journals and the essay open at the same time as I write).

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Galatea)
    Sorry, this probably belongs to the technology forum, but given that what I want to know about pertains to my university work, I thought I'd post it here.

Basically, my laptop is knackered, and I don't have the money to buy a full blown ~£400 new one, but I've noticed netbooks are substantially cheaper in most cases, more like ~£200, which I could afford.

Thing is, I'm a bit technologically challenged, and I'm not really sure what a netbook is compared with a laptop.