Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi
    Sorry if this is an obvious/stupid question

I'm a first year undergraduate, and am looking into what I want to do after my degree. When I was doing A levels, I spent a lot of time vounteering at a special school, and absolutely loved it. I'm thinking about teaching in a special school, but how do you go about training? On the website I couldn't see any specific graduate courses for special needs teaching, so do you do one in primary/secondary first, then just apply for jobs at a special school??

Thanks in advance for any replies

ReputationRep:
    There generally are not many, if any that I know of. You should take a standard training route which will qualify you to teach in a SEN school.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Daftdonkey)
    Hi
    Sorry if this is an obvious/stupid question

I'm a first year undergraduate, and am looking into what I want to do after my degree. When I was doing A levels, I spent a lot of time vounteering at a special school, and absolutely loved it. I'm thinking about teaching in a special school, but how do you go about training? On the website I couldn't see any specific graduate courses for special needs teaching, so do you do one in primary/secondary first, then just apply for jobs at a special school??

I want to do special needs teaching as well as I have a bit of experience with learning disabilities. There's one course at Man Met: 'English with Special Needs'. But unfortunately no specific training route is outined. The best advice is what you said: get a PGCE to get qualified and do your NQT year in a special school. I've put 2 linkw below that gives some advice:

http://community.tes.co.uk/forums/p/...5.aspx#5134915

http://community.tes.co.uk/forums/p/...0.aspx#4631890

ReputationRep:
    Thanks guys, that was really quick!

ReputationRep: